Home / Sports / Football / FIFA World Cup 2014 Belgium Team Squad

FIFA World Cup 2014 Belgium Team Squad

FIFA World Cup 2014 Belgium Team Squad

FIFA World Cup 2014 Belgium Team SquadThe Belgain national football team has represented Belgium in association since 1904. It is controlled by the Royal Belgian Football Association, the governing body for football belgium and a founding member of the international federations FIFA (in 1904) and UEFA (in 1954). The majority of Belgium’s home matches are held at the King Baudouin Stadium in Brussles and Marc Wilmots is their national manager. He assisted in the team coaching since 2009, but took it over in May 2012 when Georges Leekens took the managerial position in Club Brugge. The player group is nicknamed the Red Devils.

The best achievements from Belgium in international tournaments so far were the qualification for six successive FIFA World cups between 1982 and 2002 including a fourth place finish in 1986, the title of European runners-up in 1980 and the 1920 Olympic Football Gold Medal on home ground. Other noteworthy prestations are their four victories over reigning world champions: 2–0 against West Germany in 1954, 5–1 against Brazil in 1963, 1–0 against Argentina in 1982 and 2–1 against France in 2002.

1. Thibaut Courtois

2. Simon Mignolet

3. Sammy Bossut

4. Toby Alderweireld

6. Laurent Ciman

7. Vincent Kompany

8. Nicolas Lombaerts

9. Daniel Van Buyten

10. Anthony Vanden Borre

11. Thomas Vermaelen

12. Jan Vertonghen

13. Nacer Chadli

14. Steven Defour

15. Moussa Dembéle

16. Marouane Fellaini

17. Axel Witsel

18. Kevin De Bruyne

19. Eden Hazard

20. Adnan Januzaj

21. Romelu Lukaku

22. Dries Mertens

23. Kevin Mirallas

24. Divock Origi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.